Project and Escuela Ruido, 2012

Look, text!

So, for the first time since highschool, I decided to take a photography course. I decided to take one in portraiture, partly because I wanted to learn about lighting and partly because I like taking pictures of people. I’ve been toying with various projects in the last few years, but I’m the kind of person who needs to be pushed to get off her arse to do things (partly because I’m lazy and partly because I’m busy doing a million other things).

Anyway, I want to keep the text to a minimum, so I’ll go on with the explanation: this workshop ended up being very different to what I expected it would be. This was for various reasons, one of them being that I didn’t actually learn anything about what I wanted to learn. Another, that it was a lot harder and a helluvalot more work than I expected it to be. Overall, however, it was very rewarding, and I learned a lot about things that I didn’t even realize I had to learn.

The project I’d decided on from the beginning was to take pictures of immigrants (not in the loaded sense, but in the sense of foreigners who have moved to another country for whatever reason) in the spaces they have created for themselves in their new “home.” So, obviously, I came to the project with a million preconceptions that, one by one, changed. One of them being that these people (my friends, by the way) were defined by their status as immigrants. They, however, didn’t actually define themselves as immigrants, whereas I do define myself predominantly as an immigrant (though that’s a whole other kettle of fish).

One thing they all had in common, however, was an overall uncertainty about where they would be, or what they would be doing, in the next year(s). You might say that most people nowadays are faced with this uncertainty, which is also true, but that again, is another issue that I won’t get into now because I want to get to the photos.

So, the aesthetic of my photos completely changed in the last week of the workshop, so I guess I’ll post a sort of timeline. I decided to paint with light, in the end, though trying hard not to highlight (haha) the method, but use it more so to emphasise the subjects and certain aspects of their surrounding…

Anyway, blah blah blah, here are the final selection of photos (I’ll post more photos of each person and also the photos I was working with at the beginning).

This was the workshop: http://www.ruidophotoformacion.com/2010/10/reportaje-en-zonas-de-conflicto-alfons.html

And our “teacher” or “workshop leader” or whatever they’re called, was Ana Belén Jarrín: http://www.anabelenjarrin.com/  (who, by the way, was a star and very patient with very frustrated me).

 

Comments
3 Responses to “Project and Escuela Ruido, 2012”
  1. adamerah says:

    beautiful concepts and lighting effects .

  2. Pedro says:

    wow, these are beautiful ju.

Leave a Reply

