Modern Poetry in Translation

So, once upon a time (a month ago), I entered this poetry translation competition at MPT (Modern Poetry in Translation), an awesome magazine (its name is pretty self-explanatory) started back in the day by Ted Hughes and Daniel Weissbort. The translation had to be of a poem about “freedom”. I translated the poem “mercado” (“market”) by a Brazilian poet (and family friend) called Guto Leite from Portuguese (Brazil) into English.

A couple of days ago… drum roll… I found out that my translation won second place. Yay! Which makes me feel pretty chuffed. For many reasons. But one of the most important ones is that Guto’s poem (which is just damned good) will be published in MPT this April. Hurrah for spreading contemporary Brazilian literature!

So, in case you’re interested,  you can find my translation here.

And on the off-chance you’ve found all of this incredibly dull, here’s some more (partial) nakedity.

Comments
2 Responses to “Modern Poetry in Translation”
  1. bengwalchmai says:

    Congratulations, Julia.

    I’m the Web-editor for MPT so could include a link on our Facebook and Twitter to this blog-post, should you like me to. If you’re on FB or Twitter, let me know and I could post a link to your feeds.

    Just pop me an email at webeditor@mptmagazine.com to let me know if you’d like me to do any of these.

    Thanks and congratulations again.

  2. Wow, these are superb, and so innovative, especially that top one!

Leave a Reply

