Six minus two/Seis menos dos, by Sonia Budassi

A few months ago, the folk at Suelta, an online literary magazine that aims to strengthen the dialogue between contemporary literature and visual art in Latin America, put a call-out for translators to translate some of the short stories already published on their website. Luckily I managed to persuade them to let me do one. I read every single one of the stories (which were all amazing) to be certain that I’d choose the best one for me to translate. The moment I read Sonia Budassi’s Seis menos dos, which is one of the last ones I read, I bumped off all the other ones off the list and decided to stick with this one.

Suelta put me in touch with Sonia, who was very kind and supportive and patiently helped me sort out certain Argentinian words I was unaware of… And now, voilà! Here is the translation. Be sure to read the other translations on the website, too. All of them, if you understand Spanish. Only the translations if you don’t.

Suelta is doing a great job, so y’all should spread the word.

************************************************************************************

Hace unos meses los de la revista literaria, Suelta, pusieron un anuncio buscando a traductores para que traducieran los relatos publicados en su página web. Suelta es un proyecto increíble que quiere fortalecer la relación entre las artes plásticas y la literatura contemporánea en Latino América. Con suerte, logré convencerles de que me dejaran traducir uno. Leí cada uno de los relatos (todos increíbles), para que tuviera certeza de escoger el mejor relato para mí. El momento en que leí Seis menos dos de Sonia Budassi, descarté todos los demás relatos y decidí traducirlo.

Suelta me puso en contacto con Sonia, quien fue muy amable y me ayudó con mucha paciencia a decifrar ciertas palabras argentinas que me tenían un poco confusa (pileta, matera, mensaje). Y bueno, pues aquí está. Que no se les olvide leer los otros relatos también, en castellano y en inglés. No todos los relatos han sido traducidos todavía, pero ya hay una buena selección.

Me parece increíble el proyecto de Suelta así que les recomiendo que lean mucho y que les cuenten a sus amigos.

Comments
One Response to “Six minus two/Seis menos dos, by Sonia Budassi”
  1. You chose a wonderful story to translate. I was deeply moved by this piece. Thanks also for your sympathetic look at my website / blogsite. The photography on your site is very nice.

Leave a Reply

